DroneDeploy

Organizing Your Data with Folders

An introduction to Folders and how to use them

Tired of scrolling through dozens, or even hundreds, of maps and plans to find what you're looking for? Wish you could group them by client, stage, or even fiscal quarter? Want to be able to keep all maps of a site in one place and easily share the whole collection with your team? Now you can use folders in your DroneDeploy dashboard to help keep your data organized.

Creating a Folder

Creating a folder is easy- just click or tap on the plus sign of the folder icon.

Then, give your folder a name and click the checkmark to save it.

Now your folder should be on the dashboard, ready to be edited, shared, or deleted.

Once in a folder, you can create a project or upload your images directly to the folder to create a map. You can also move maps that are outside of your folder to the folder you specify.

Sharing Folders

You can share folders by clicking on the three dots to the next it and clicking on the share button.

From here you can add editors to the folders by email. Note: editors must be added to your Organization in order to invite them.

Please note: Shared users have full edit access for folders

Please note that the shared user will be able to view and edit all data within the folder and will also be able to edit the folder itself.

Moving Items into and out of a Folder

Click or tap the three dots to the right of a map or project to open the menu and then select Move to folder Then select which folder you would like to move it to.

To remove an item from a folder:

  1. Tap the folder to open it.
  2. Tap the menu to the right of the item you want to remove and select either "move to folder` or move to the dashboard.

FAQ

If I share a folder with someone, can they edit my data and add or remove items from the folder?

Yes. All folder editors can edit all items within folders, add and remove items and even rename or delete the folder itself.

If I share a folder with someone, can they delete my data?

Editors can delete your folder, if empty, but they cannot delete your data. Only the editor that created it can permanently delete a map or flight plan.